Walking in the dark

I live in a neighborhood that has lovely old-timey-ish street lights at random intervals along the streets. They really are quite nice looking, but they don’t exactly light up the street. In fact, there’s one across the street from my house, but my house, including the sidewalk in front, would sit in pitch dark without my porch and garage lights on. That, combined with pieces of sidewalk that jump up and grab your sneakers (that must be what happens because I am most definitely not a klutz!), makes walking in the late evenings or early mornings rather treacherous.

Enter PupLights. I bought these a couple of years ago and they are every bit as fantastic as the marketing literature says they are. The one for dogs comes with a collar that adjusts to fit just about any dog. The one for humans comes with an adjustable lanyard. The bulbs are powered by three AAA batteries and the bulb housing is adjustable so you can point the light straight ahead or down toward the ground. I adjust mine to point straight ahead and the dogs’ to point down, so they can see what they’re sniffing. I’m absolutely certain that this is imperative and that they are exceedingly grateful.

Here’s what it looks like in use:

Please forgive the lousy photo. Frankie would stand still long enough for me to use the night setting.

Please forgive the lousy photo. Frankie would not stand still long enough for me to use my camera’s night setting.

That’s Frankie’s and my lights together. His is the bright flash right in front of him. Mine is the longer, wider swath of light.

Here’s what it looks like from the front:

IMG_0449

Handsome devil who invariably refuses to look at the camera.

And see? Pointed downward for spotlighted sniffing!

IMG_0447

And here’s what it looks like when you try to use the proper camera setting with an uncooperative dog:

IMG_0432

We’re walking at 5 a.m. now. I just can’t take the evening heat; it’s still in the high 90s at
8 p.m. With a thousand percent humidity. And I never exaggerate. Especially about the heat.

But look! I spy a muscle!!

Slowly but surely, we're building those muscles!

Slowly but surely, we’re building those muscles!

This entry was posted in Cool tools and toys, Frankie and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Walking in the dark

  1. Karen says:

    Cool lights!
    Aw, I recognize those cute ears from the back view.
    I love the nighttime photo with an uncooperative dog. It’s so spooky! I think you could sell it to a movie marketing firm to use in their next horror film!
    A muscle! Yes! Good work. Both of you.

    • Sherron says:

      Thanks, Karen! We both really appreciate the encouragement! Yeah, the spooky photo…when I first saw it, I thought, “that’s Frankie’s evil twin, the one who steals stuff off the counter, drags it outside, and destroys it!” :-0

Leave a Reply

