You never miss a real good thing…

Crystal Gayle recorded You Never Miss a Real Good Thing (Till He Says Goodbye* in the 1970s. I loved Crystal Gayle and every time one of her songs came on the radio, I sang it at the top of my lungs. Fortunately for my family, I can carry a tune.

The chorus goes like this:

You never miss a real good thing
Or know what it means
You never see the light of day
Till it goes away
You never want a drink of water
Till the well runs dry
You never miss a real good thing
Till he says goodbye

Even as a pre-teen, I understood this song. Not in the lost love sense, of course, although I definitely watched enough soap operas in the summers to envision that aspect. No, the lyric that resonated with me was You never want a drink of water/till the well runs dry. Hot summers + garden work + “Daddy will get mad if I go back inside after only 15 minutes” = “Why didn’t I get a drink or bring a glass of water outside with me??” 

Here’s the real good thing I’m missing a whole lot right now:

IMG_0420

The repairman says it can be fixed. He told me to defrost it and that the fan motor would kick back on. Ummmm…I did exactly what he told me to do, and nothing’s happened yet. Fingers (and paws) crossed! Parts won’t be here until Tuesday, so if it doesn’t work I may be throwing out a whole lot of frozen food. Maybe I should make a run to 7-Eleven to get some ice. And maybe I should cook that bacon that was in the freezer.

I was a VERY good boy while the repairman was here! You're supposed to bark while the repairman is explaining things. right?

I was a VERY good boy while the repairman was here! You’re supposed to bark while the repairman is explaining things. right?

*Also? My hair used to be a few inches shorter than Crystal’s was in this video. Seriously!)

This entry was posted in Frankie, Maybe possibly pet related and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

