Phoebe Marie Hornberger – February 22, 1998 – June 15, 2013

Phoebe came into my life on Christmas Day, 2001. She had been abused by a breeder, rescued by my friend. She was sick and fearful. Phoebe never did fully recover from the terrible life she was forced to live at the hands of that breeder. But she did learn to love people, to mostly trust people. I would take her to the dog park and she would disappear, having found a convenient lap to sit in where she could be petted, usually a child’s.

Phoebe was inquisitive, adventurous. And oh so stubborn, as dachshunds are wont to be. This little girl and I clashed so often, but I know she loved me and I loved her, too. Phoebe helped me learn a great deal about myself. All valuable lessons, for sure, but some very hard. Like how impatient and short-tempered I can be.

It was because of Phoebe that I learned about clicker training, which has forever changed the way I relate to pets – and people, too. And she taught me about commitment, that you don’t give up when the going gets rough, that something good can come from something hard.

Our life together wasn’t always easy, but it was good. Thank you for the adventure, Phoebe. Kiss my boys for me.

phoebe_riverwalk

"Mommy, can you please get me out of the cold wind?"

873844570208_0_ALB

chass_gin_phoeb

phoebe_belanna_table

DSC_5236-(ZF-4686-54664-1-001)

IMG_0194

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Phoebe Marie Hornberger – February 22, 1998 – June 15, 2013

  1. Mary Little says:

    Dear Phoebe is now at the Rainbow Bridge, waiting to see you again.

  2. Yonca says:

    May Phoebe rest in peace in heaven.
    With love and light,
    Yonca

  3. Karen says:

    Isn’t it amazing how pets, no matter how abused they have been, can teach us so many things. Thank you, Phoebe, for helping ME learn about clicker-training, too! It was because of your Mom that I learned it, and it opened a whole new world to me. You were tiny in size but huge in your impact to those who knew you. Rest in peace sweet Phoebes. Run with no barriers, no pain.

Leave a Reply

