Hi, I’m Sherron and I like to color

I have a new hobby, thanks to a dear friend who noticed how much fun I had coloring a black velvet, color-by-number-ish kinda thing that I bought for 99 cents on a craft store outing. This sweet friend gave me crayons (crayons!), colored pencils (pencils!), and coloring books (yes! coloring books) for Christmas.

One of the coloring books is The Victorian House Coloring Book. It’s part history lesson, part coloring book with introductions that describe typical Victorian rooms and the ways they were decorated and used.

Bringing the rooms in this Victorian house to life with a few crayons and colored pencils, I’m finding, is just darn good therapy. In fact, I may have found a means of short-circuiting those stress-induced overeating urges that I get entirely too often. Which means I may be a teensy bit obsessed with coloring right now. I may require an intervention in the future. I’ll keep you posted.

Also, I like to color in cartoon shades. I wonder if there’s a 12-step group or self-help book for that?

I’m having ridiculous amounts of fun blending colors, especially blending crayon colors with pencil colors – which works much better than I thought it would.

And the other amazing thing? My girls, who usually very carefully investigate everything that’s on the table by my chair – and by that I mean steal and eventually destroy – have not even given my crayons, pencils, or sharpener a second look. I’m not pushing my luck, though! Have to keep these babies safe!

This entry was posted in Hobbies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hi, I’m Sherron and I like to color

  1. Elizabeth says:

    What a fun gift! I have been feeling the urge to buy a coloring book myself. I used to love the fun of coloring inside the lines.

  2. darxyanne says:

    Ooh, that is one awesome friend. And coloring as an alternative to emotional eating? Sign me up! Your flowers are so lovely. Love!

  3. dawnrey says:

    What a great idea! Sometimes I feel like I want to do *something* creative, but some of my projects require taking out so many supplies and clearing out a space to work. A coloring book is a great idea. I’ll have to look around to see what strikes my fancy!

    • Sherron says:

      It is SO much fun!! I’m actually liking coloring with pencils better than with crayons, which was a surprise to me.

      I sponsor kids through Compassion, Intl. and they’re always sending me drawings, so I decided to color some pages and send to them. I can’t wait to hear what they think.🙂 I have found some really interesting things to color at this site: http://www.doverpublications.com/sampler/0415/

Leave a Reply

